Categories
English Content

My Craven Cottage Experience

The world of football is often associated with modern and high-tech architecture venues like Tottenham Hotspur’s new stadium, a development that cost £1.2 billion to build.

Quite clearly, times have really changed since Craven Cottage was first built in 1780, where parts of the stadium still remain impeccable as the years have gone by.

On April 5, I was on my way to London to report on a under-23s game between Fulham vs Reading for the Premier League 2. I was fulfilled with excitement to step into one of the most antique grounds that I had only seen in photos.

As I stepped outside of the coach, I couldn’t help but smile at what I had encountered straight away, a distinctive one of a kind stadium, there was this traditional feel to it, something I had never come across previously.

Johnny Haynes statue. The former player is widely regarded as the greatest footballer ever to play for the west London club.

The conservative brickwork on the exterior was what added to Fulham Football Club’s uniqueness, something that is perhaps missing in modern stadiums.

Living in a modern-era, not many people appreciate historical things as such.

Cottage’s nostalgic interior could be comparable to a museum with its distinguishing Johnny Haynes wooden stand which remain untouched, being the oldest in the Football League and professional football since 1896.

Johnny Haynes stand with wooden seats at the top.

I was then welcomed to the media room, where the club conducts their press-conferences and to get there, the journalists have to walk through the concourse. This was something which I found quite fascinating as not many clubs have adapted this style.

Although I felt the press-conference room was smaller than previous ones I had visited, it had a warm feel to it. I took a moment to observe and process the fact that many top-class managers with the likes of Slaviša Jokanović, Roy Hudson and most recently, Claudio Ranieri had been sat on the chair that was right in front of me.

During the short walk around the ground, I noticed the sprinklers were in function, ensuring that the pitch was in perfect condition prior to kick-off. From where I was stood, I observed the other side of the ground and its notorious black and white seats that proudly spelled ‘Fulham FC.’ As I turned my back to head to the press-box, I came across the characteristic wooden seats that added to the club’s identity.

As the clock struck towards kick-off time, I could see more seats becoming filled, though the atmosphere wasn’t quite as expected. I got the impression this was due to the club’s recent circumstances in getting relegated from the Premier League which perhaps added to an over-lasting impact on the fans.

Having said that, during Fulham’s possession spells, some of the home fans expressed their satisfaction by cheering the youngsters on and applauding them on a counter-attack.

During the break, I felt I could take at least 5 minutes to de-stress, as the first 45 minutes of the game were quite intense, requiring to work at a fast-pace in order to live tweet and produce a match-report.

At the final whistle, the home team weren’t able to get those much needed three points that would have permitted them to move off bottom of the table.

Reading had been dominating since the early stages of the game and Mark Pembridge’s side couldn’t quite follow up from the visitor’s performance so therefore, the 3-0 result was justified.

Subsequently, I headed to the media room where I waited for the midfielder Matt O’Riley to make an appearance for his post-match analysis.

With a rather disappointed look on his face, the 18-year-old spoke unenthusiastically about his team’s inferior performance and his ten years at Fulham.

“What happens to this club means a lot to me, I’ve been here for ten years and grew up around the corner, it’s my boyhood club.

“A potential positive of relegation is that it could mean young players like myself can get opportunities in the first team,” O’Riley said.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at this magnificent stadium where I have gained further acknowledgement from the club’s history.

Until next time, Craven Cottage..

By Bruna

Aspiring Sports Journalism student.
All articles published are written by myself.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.