Categories
English Content

Owen Rees: “Varsity is like no other”

As a third year student, Owen Rees looks back to when his passion for rugby started and his achievements ahead of Varsity week.

“At the age of five I started playing football and I very quickly realised I wasn’t enjoying it.”

He revealed that after growing up to see the likes of Shane Williams playing rugby, he wanted to get involved in the sport and has been playing since the age of six.

“I think it’s quite inspirational Shane Williams beat all odds to play the standard that he played.

“No one thought he could play and it’s not the fact that he played at a certain level, it’s just the fact he went against what everyone thought and said about him.”

Despite the numerous injuries Rees faced as a player, he did not let that stop him from aiming higher.

“Winning Varsity last year was probably one of my biggest highlights as a player,” he began to describe with a smile on his face. 

“I came back from injury towards the start of the season and managed to get into the first team. I managed to keep at it and started at Varsity which was a great accomplishment for me.”

Rees strives to go one better by retaining the title again in what could potentially be another memorable year for the team, having won their last three Varsity matches.

“I’m feeling anxious,” he admitted without hesitation.

“The Varsity game is just as big for them as it is for us.”

As an experienced player, he acknowledged it will not be a straight-forward game against their rivals but he is positive.

“I always say that as long as the team puts in a lot of effort, try their hardest, if we lose then we lose. What I don’t like is when we lose because we haven’t bothered.

“I think we’re going to go into it thinking and knowing they are going to be a decent team and we have to front up to that.”

With many freshers to be included in Downes’ squad, Rees looked back at when he first joined the University team.

“It is quite daunting coming up and playing University rugby especially when you’re straight from school so as long as you try hard and turn up to training, it is fun.

“But as long as they have fun then that’s all that matters.”

He also disclosed that since becoming part of the rugby team, it has benefit him in many ways, “my confidence has gone up and I’m enjoying my rugby.”

“University is a very good environment to be like that because it is so competitive especially when you’re playing against other universities as well.

“It also motivates you to be better within yourself.”

“All the boys get on really well together. I think we’re quite tight-knit unit.”

Currently top of the table, the University of Gloucestershire rugby team aim to continue with their notorious Varsity campaign ahead of their clash against Worcester on April 10.

By Bruna

Aspiring Sports Journalism student.
All articles published are written by myself.