Categories
English Content

Portugal crown second trophy in three years after 1-0 win over Netherlands in inaugural Nations League

Portugal claimed their second trophy in three years and first Nations League trophy after overcoming the Netherlands 1-0 at the Estadio do Dragao, Porto.

Euro champions in 2016, Fernando Santos’ side impressed as they won the inaugural Nations League with Goncalo Guedes’ second half shot from outside the box.

Ronald Koeman’s men had a few attempts to get back in the game, one of which was Memphis Depay’s powerful header, although well saved by Wolves’ goalkeeper, Rui Patricio.

Cristiano Ronaldo was not able to add to his 88 international goals in the night as he was blocked by towering Dutch defender, Virgil van Djik.

The Portuguese coach praised his team’s togetherness.

“Our family always believes and know what they are capable of, and today, we knew we could win this game.

“We have to continue to work in the same way, we have been candidates since the very first day, candidates in winning all the competitions we take part in.

“Congratulations to my players, I want to share this victory in a special way with my family, my sons and a little more with my mum, my brother-in-law and my cousin, these last few months have been difficult, due to health issues.”

Manchester City’s, Bernardo Silva who assisted Guedes’ goal said:

“I am very happy and very proud. It is my first title with Portugal. After the amazing season with my club, to finish this way is amazing. It is time to rest now and prepare for next season and try to do even better.

“The most important thing is that Portugal won. If you can add to that individual awards, then even better.”

Selecao reunited with the fans at Avenida dos Aliados, in central Porto to celebrate throughout the night.

Avenida dos Aliados, Porto.

“I was telling my  teammates that it’s my first time here at Aliados and I have to say this is a beautiful and remarkable moment! 

On behalf of my teammates and coaching staff, we want to thank you all. Without your support and your energy this wouldn’t be possible. Thank you so much.”

Selecao’s statistics before and after Ronaldo joined:

Souce: @TheSportsman (Twitter)

Portugal are now unbeaten in their last 10 games, having won five games and drawing the other five.

Santos’ side are also 14 competitive games unbeaten on home turf, as far back as September 2014.

By Bruna

Aspiring Sports Journalism student.
All articles published are written by myself.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.